Disaster Designation Due to Drought

Published on October 31, 2023


On October 30, 2023, Secretary of Agriculture, Thomas J. Vilsack, under 7 CFR 759.5(a), designated two (2) Arizona counties as a primary disaster area due to drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

This designation makes farm operators in primary counties, and those counties contiguous to such primary counties, eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met.  This assistance includes FSA emergency loans.  Farmers in eligible counties have eight (8) months to apply for emergency loans.  FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Arizona Primary Counties (2):Apache, Yavapai

Arizona Contiguous Counties (8): Coconino, Graham, La Paz, Mohave, Gila, Greenlee, Maricopa, Navajo

Governor Letter(PDF, 274KB)

Farmers Assistance Brochure(PDF, 1MB)

Tagged as: